Directions, Hours & Search
208 W 13 St
New York, NY 10011

Virtual Hours

Mon-Fri
9 a.m. to 10 p.m.

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

Loading Events

« All Events

SECOND TUESDAY PRESENTS QUEERING LOCKDOWNS: NYC AFTER THE PANDEMIC

March 9, 6:30 pm-8:00 pm

Writers Jeremiah Moss and Jen Jack Gieseking sit in conversation about the future of NYC’s queer spaces after the COVID-19 lockdown. What has happened in the past? How will spots where LGBTQ people gather be different after 2021?

RSVP required at: https://gaycenter.org/queering-lockdowns/

ABOUT THE SPEAKERS
Jeremiah Moss’s best-selling book “Vanishing New York: How a Great City Lost Its Soul” is an unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to lost New York. Vanity Fair called it “essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs, Joseph Mitchell, Patti Smith, Luc Sante, and cheap pierogi.” His new book “Feral City” will be out in 2021.

Jen Jack Gieseking’s important study “A Queer NYC: Geographies of Lesbians, Dykes, and Queers” is the first lesbian and queer historical geography of New York City. Over the past few decades, rapid gentrification has led to the disappearance of many lesbian and queer spaces, displacing some of the most marginalized members of the LGBTQ+ community. Gieseking highlights the historic significance of these spaces, mapping the political, economic, and geographic dispossession of a thriving community that once called certain neighborhoods home.

Details

Date:
March 9
Time:
6:30 pm-8:00 pm
Event Category: